Elliot M. Stone Award of Excellence in Health Data Leadership

Elliot M. StoneSince 1990, NAHDO has presented the NAHDO Award of Excellence in Health Data Leadership to one or more individuals who represent the highest ideals in data collection, analysis, or outcomes measurement and whose creative efforts have made outstanding contributions to improvements in the collection, application, and/or dissemination of health data. Until his passing in 2005, Elliot Stone helped NAHDO select awardees who made significant contributions to the health information field and who exhibited characteristics of quality, excellence, and passion in their work---characteristics that Elliot himself embodied.

In 2005, following Elliot Stone’s untimely passing, the NAHDO Board renamed its annual award, the “Elliot Stone Award of Excellence in Health Data Leadership”, in honor of Elliot and in acknowledgement of his generosity, care, and diligence to the field and to his colleagues. Elliot set the highest standards for his own performance and for others to follow. At NAHDO’s 20th Anniversary Meeting in Washington, D.C., the first Elliot Stone Award of Excellence was presented posthumously by NAHDO to Elliot’s wife and sons. It is NAHDO's pleasure to present the 2020 Elliot M. Stone Award of Excellence in Health Data Leadership to Suanne Singer and Al Prysunka. They are being recognized not only for their individual contributions but also for the combined efforts and dedication to the belief that access to healthcare data is essential to make progress toward a more affordable health care system with better outcomes and improved access to care.

2021 Recipient - Michael Lundberg

Michael Lundberg with Award

Michael Lundberg

On October 31, 2021, Michael Lundberg will retire as the Chief Executive Officer of Virginia Health Information (VHI), an independent, nonprofit health data organization, contracted by the Virginia Department of Health to administer the Commonwealth’s health data reporting laws. Michael has been with the organization as the Executive Director since its incorporation in 1993 to establish and maintain Virginia’s inpatient hospital discharge data system. The organization has since expanded the collection of dissemination of healthcare data including but not limited to medical facility efficiency and productivity information, Virginia’s All Payer Claims Database (APCD) and prescription drug pricing transparency data. During this time, Virginia has been a pioneer in the implementation of the Common Data Layout (CDL) and reporting provider-specific rates related to cardiac and OB care. Through VHI, Michael oversees Virginia’s Health Information Exchange (HIE) which includes Virginia’s Emergency Department Care Coordination Program (EDCCP), advanced healthcare directives registry and public health reporting pathway. Michael has led the nonprofit from a $300,000 a year organization to one anticipating over $10,000,000 in revenues this upcoming fiscal year. With over two decades of experience in developing health information for businesses, consumers, healthcare providers and policymakers, Michael has played a vital role in organization’s success. Michael began his career in healthcare data with a Professional Standards Review Organization. He has served leadership positions with nonprofit organizations including Virginians Improving Patient Care and Safety, Centralized Credentials Verification Service, Inc. (CCVS) and the National Association of Health Data Organization as the Vice Chair of their Board of Directors.. 

Past recipients

1991 - William Roper, MD, MPH

1992 - Robert Fetter, PhD & John D. Thompson, MS

1993 - Kerr White, M.D.

1994 - Dorothy Rice, DSc

1995 - Willis Goldbeck

1996 - Bruce Vladeck, Ph.D.

1997 - Ernest Sessa

2000 - Senators Kassebaum and Kennedy

2001 - Dr. Louis Sullivan

2004 - Robert Davis

2005 - Elliot Stone

2006 - David Nash, M.D. 

2007 - David Carlisle, M.D., Ph.D. 

2008 - Michael Pine, M.D., M.B.A.

2009 - Arnold Milstein, M.D.

2010 - Carolyn M. Clancy, M.D.

2011 - Marjorie S. Greenberg

2012 - William (Bill) F. Davenhall

2013 - Richard E. Johannes

2014 - Karen M. Bell, MD, MMS

2015 - No Award

2016 - Anne Elixhauser, PhD

2017 - Mark McClellan, MD PhD

2018 - Denise Love, BSN, MBA

2019 - Joe Thompson, MD, MPH

2020 - Suanne Singer and Al Prysunka

2021- Michael Lundberg