Innovation in Data Dissemination Award

Each year since 2009, NAHDO has honored an organization with the distinguished Innovation in Data Dissemination Award. The NAHDO Board of Directors established this award to recognize the importance of effectively communicating health data to the public.

While the Elliot M. Stone Award of Excellence in Health Leadership is intended for an individual, the Innovation in Data Dissemination Award is designed to be awarded to an organization.  The NAHDO Board of Directors established this award in 2009 to recognize the importance of effectively communicating health data to the public.  Eligible organizations may be government agencies, non-profit organizations, or for-profit companies, and data dissemination efforts might include Websites, advertising campaigns, written reports, or a combination of these and other communication initiatives. 

The 2021 Awardees

New England States Consortium Systems Organization (NESCSO) 

In 2021, NESCSO announced the release of the “New England States’ All-Payer Report on Primary Care Payments.” This report demonstrates a new and creative approach to combining multiple states’ all-payer claims databases (APCDs) using a “distributed” data model to achieve broader understanding than could be achieved by any one state on its own. The distributed model required transparent definitions and methodologies and systematic quality assurance procedures to advance a shared understanding of the impact of each state’s primary care investment. NESCSO’s Primary Care Investment Learning Community, led by Richard Slusky of Slusky Consulting, included state government employees from each New England state that had an interest in and responsibility for monitoring state-level primary care. Community members were galvanized by recommendations from NESCSO’s Primary Care Collaborative and other organizations that a standardized measure of primary care investment was needed before
it would be able to demonstrate that increased investment can lead to improved quality, increased access, and lower cost. 

Delaware Health Information Network (DHIN)

DHIN has developed a number of channels for disseminating data that are crucial to the health and well-being of its customer base of patients, providers, and public health personnel. For patients, the DHIN disseminates data through its Health Check Connect Personal Health Record. The Health Check Connect PHR is on the web and is also available in native mobile app form for Apple iOS and Android devices. The Health Check Connect PHR offers a number of services to patients, including Digital Consent Management, Lab and Test Results, and Direct Secure Messaging. This innovative approach allows data to be used and transparent from all government agencies, providers and end users when applicable. DHIN added the capability to distribute COVID test results to patients. This feature of Health Check Connect, in particular, has driven an increase in the number of users of the Health Check Connect PHR from less than 1,000 in 2019 to more than 18,000 in 2021. 

Elena Nicolella receives an award

Elena Nicolella, NESCSO

Executive Director

Jan Lee received an award

Jan Lee, DHIN

Chief Executive Officer

Past recipients

2009 - Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA), Florida Center for Health Information and Policy Analysis

2010 - New Hampshire Insurance Department and the Commissioner's Advisory Committee on Health Insurance

2011 - Virginia Health Information (VHI)

2012 - Department of Health and Human Services Health Data Initiative (HDI)

2013 - Center for Improving Value in Health Care (CIVHC) & Treo Solutions

2014 - Consumer Reports

2015 - No Award

2016 - Maine Health Data Organization

2017 - No Award

2018 - Washington All-Payer Claims Database’s new HealthCareCompare website

2019 - Indiana Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA)

2020 - Massachusetts eHealth Collaborative

2021 - New England States Consortium Systems Organization & Delaware Health Information Network